Best Plugins for Wordpress and Atahualpa

Atahualpa Theme Best WordPress Plugins

Calendar Plugins:

All-in-One Event Calendar by Timely (Event Calendar with Widget) -http://wordpress.org/plugins/all-in-one-event-calendar/ –  show a calendar in your sidebar with upcoming events, a calendar page with poster board dates

Image/Media Plugins:

Dynamic Content Gallery - http://www.studiograsshopper.ch/dynamic-content-gallery/ – show a custom-sized slideshow of images from your current WordPress posts or use with All In One Event Calendar for images of Calendar or Music Events

Slim Jetpack – http://wordpress.org/plugins/slimjetpack/ – better than Jetpack, you don’t have to sign up for an account.  Offers tons of features including a beautiful image slider to transform your standard image galleries into an immersive full-screen experience, a mobile skin/theme for your website, and circular images or a mosaic image formats plus much more.

Disable Right Click – http://wordpress.org/plugins/disable-right-click/ – disable right click on images to protect them from copying

http://wordpress.org/support/view/plugin-reviews/disable-right-click?rate=5#postform

Electric Studio Auto Post Expire – http://www.electricstudio.co.uk/ – for use with All In One Event Calendar by Timely – automatically expires posts by setting the post to “Draft” instead of “Published” after a certain date

Advanced YouTube Embed Plugin – Embed Plus - http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/embedplus-for-wordpress/ – Best WordPress plugin for YouTube Videos

WordPress Video Gallery - http://wordpress.org/plugins/contus-video-gallery/ – play videos uploaded to your website

Resize At Upload Plus – http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/resize-at-upload-plus/- resizes images as you upload them through WordPress – great for use with Dynamic Content Gallery

Cimy Header Image Rotator http://wordpress.org/plugins/cimy-header-image-rotator/ – top image/header rotation with optional linking, and great rotation effects.

Social Media Plugins:

NextScripts: Social Networks Auto-Posterhttp://wordpress.org/plugins/social-networks-auto-poster-facebook-twitter-g/ – lets you post to social media outlets directly from WordPress.  No more double posting! Facebook, Twitter

Slick Social Share Buttonshttp://wordpress.org/plugins/slick-social-share-buttons/ – provides a floating social media icon that is unobtrusive but always in view so users will be reminded to “Like” your Facebook page or add your business to their social media following.

Contact Forms:

Contact Form 7http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/contact-form-7/ – a great way to customize a contact page or create surveys, applications and forms

Really Simple Captcha - http://wordpress.org/plugins/really-simple-captcha/ –  for use with Contact Form 7 to keep computer bots and spiders from collecting sending automatic spam to your email

Google Maps Widget:

Google Maps Widgethttp://wordpress.org/plugins/google-maps-widget/

Google Fonts:

Supreme Google Webfonts – http://wordpress.org/plugins/supreme-google-webfonts/ lets you choose Google Webfonts directly from your Post/Page edit with visual font style list (For use with Ultimate TinyMCE plugin http://wordpress.org/plugins/ultimate-tinymce/ )

 SEO/SEM Plugins:

Google Analyticator -http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/google-analyticator/ – this is a plugin to make integrating Google Analytics into your WordPress site easy

Google XML Sitemaps – http://www.arnebrachhold.de/redir/sitemap-home/ – keep track of Google Analytics right from your Dashboard

Gd-star-ratinghttp://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/gd-star-rating/ – let your users rate your posts and pages with stars or thumbs up ratings

Postiehttp://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/postie/ – just write an email to post to your website (special email account must be set up)

WordPress SEO by Yoasthttp://wordpress.org/plugins/wordpress-seo/

Security Plugins:

It is imperative that you keep all your WordPress installations up to date, your plugins and themes as well.  Read about updates here.

Askimet – filters out spam and is automatically installed with WordPress

You must get an API Key from WordPress – http://en.wordpress.com/api-keys/ Sign up for a WordPress Account at http://www.wordpress.com After signing in to your account, Click on My Account in the upper left corner, select Edit Profile and at the top of that page you will see your Askimet Key Number. Copy and paste the number into your Askimet plugin

BackWPup – http://backwpup.com/ – easy backup to server or to your computer

Botdetect CAPTCHA – https://github.com/wp-plugins/botdetect-wp-captcha (UPLOAD WITH FILEZILLA)

WP htaccess Control - http://dardna.com/wp-htaccess-control – another security measure for WordPress – interface to customize the permalinks (author, category, archives and pagination) and htaccess file generated by WordPress

Better WP Security – http://bit51.com/software/better-wp-security/ – takes the best WordPress security features and techniques and combines them in a single plugin thereby ensuring that as many security holes as possible are patched  (can be used in conjunction with Wordfence Security and WordPressFirewall in Atahualpa Theme)

Wordfence Security – http://wordfence.com/ – anti-virus and firewall security plugin for WordPress (can be used in conjunction with Better WP Security and WordPress Firewall in Atahualpa Theme)

 

These plugins get my thumbs up!

WP-Print – http://lesterchan.net/portfolio/programming/php/

WP – Wundergroundhttp://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wunderground/?topic_id=17754 – add a weather widget to your sidebar

 

 

 

1 comment to Best Plugins for WordPress and Atahualpa

  • Thanks so much for taking the time to do this! I love the Atahualpa theme for many reasons, but those same reasons often make it incompatible to many plugins. I will add a few of my favorites as well…

    Acurax Social Media Widget
    Broken Link Checker
    XYZ Scripts Contact Form Manager
    Post Tags and Categories for Pages
    ShareThis
    Transpost Translation Filter
    TW Recent Posts Widget
    WP Google Maps

    I use these regularly and they have had no performance conflicts with Atahualpa. Hope it’s helpful!
    Cheers!
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>